Malmstrom brings home Blanchard Trophy again this year, plus 10 other awards in Global Strike Challenge

The 341st Missile Wing has again been awarded the Blanchard Trophy.

The trophy goes to the best intercontinental ballistic missile wing in the Global Strike Challenge, a competition for airmen in Air Force Global Strike Command,which is Malmstrom Air Force Base’s parent command.

It’s the third consecutive win for the 341st.

The Blanchard Trophy was first awarded in 1967 to the 351st Strategic Missile Wing based out of Whiteman AFB, Missouri. The trophy is named after Gen. William H. Blanchard who served as the United States Air Force vice chief of staff and represents the best missile wing within the command.

The 341st Missile Wing won their first Blanchard in 1976 and was the first wing to win back-to-back Blanchard trophies in 1990 and 1991. The wing has the most back-to-back wins out of the command and has won the most Blanchard’s to date, with 12 victories.

Malmstrom won in 2015 and 2017.

This year’s competition focused on “great power competition and AFGSC Commander Gen. Tim Ray’s “fight the base” initiative from the command’s 2020 strategic plan. Fight the base focuses on reinvigorating and revising wing exercise programs to strengthen preparedness for potential attacks and threats,” according to U.S. Strategic Command.

Participants in the 2019 Global Strike Challenge included AFGSC’s nine wings plus units from Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard.

The goal of the challenge is to enhance readiness, teamwork, esprit de corps, mission pride and a competitive spirit. It exists as a way to celebrate heritage and mission by showcasing the command’s best in weapons systems and technical expertise. The Global Strike Challenge was born from bomber and missile competitions that Strategic Air Command once held. The first official Global Strike Challenge was held in 2010.

In the 2019 competition, Malmstrom won 11 awards.

In addition to the Blanchard Trophy, the wing won the Doolittle Trophy for the fist time.

The trophy was formerly known as the Innovation Trophy and recognizes the innovation efforts of the base and their dedication to staying competitive in the 21st century, according to STRATCOM.

Malmstrom won the following awards:

  • Blanchard Trophy for Best ICBM Wing
  • Charlie Fire Team Trophy
  • Best Security Forces Mental and Physical Challenge
  • Best Security Forces Marksmanship Trophy
  • Best Security Forces Tactics Trophy
  • McMahon Trophy (Best Weapons System Crew)
  • Best ICBM Missile Communications Team
  • Best ICBM Facilities Maintenance Section Team
  • Best Security Response
  • Doolittle Trophy for Innovation Excellence
  • Spirit Bell (awarded to the team who best represents Global Strike Challenge teamwork and spirit de corps)