City reminds residents of fireworks rules for July 4
The Fourth of July is coming up and the city is reminding residents about local rules regarding fireworks.
Fireworks sales have opened in Montana, however, the selling and discharging of fireworks within the incorporated limits of Great Falls can only take place on July 2, July 3 and July 4 from 8 a.m. to midnight per city code – §9.9.90 /Ordinance 2965.
Stick rockets, bottle rockets and roman candles are not allowed in Montana per state law.
Cascade County has different rules and regulations as it relates to fireworks, and the city does not regulate the sale or discharge of fireworks outside the city limits.
Residents should only discharge fireworks on private property. Fireworks are prohibited from being discharged on all publicly owned areas such as parks, streets, cul-de-sacs, public sidewalks or public rights of way or any publicly owned parking lot/parking space or alley.
Children 10 and younger partaking in the firework festivities must have a supervising adult within 10 feet to control the application of flame or other means to discharge the firework.
City rules require that residents clean up any trash left behind from the use of fireworks.
The city’s fireworks ordinance will be enforced by the Great Falls Police Department and Great Falls Fire Rescue. Any person who violates the city’s rules and regulations, pertaining to fireworks may be guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to the following fines:
- First offense: $100
- Second offense: $200
- Third offense: $300
- Fourth offense: $1,000
For more information about fireworks rules and regulations within the city limits see the full text of the city code or contact Lisa Kunz, city clerk, at 455-8451.