341st Missile Wing wins another Omaha Trophy

The 341st Missile Wing has again been named the winner of the 2018 Omaha Trophy.

Gen. John Hyten, commander of U.S. Strategic Command, announced the winners June 3.

The 341st Missile Wing won the award for 2007, 2008, 2009, 2015 and 2017.

Malmstrom celebrates Omaha Trophy win; remembers 9/11 attacks

“The Omaha Trophy represents the best of the best in units executing strategic deterrence,” Hyten said in a release. “This year’s winners distinguished themselves through tireless effort, hard work and meticulous attention to detail. Of USSTRATCOM’s 162,000 warfighters critical to the security of our nation; this year you are first among equals.”

“Whether you work under the ground, under the sea, or in the air, each nominated unit deserves recognition. It’s because of you we are the most powerful command on the planet. Thank you for the important work you do each and every day,” Hyten said in a release.

341st Missile Wing again named Omaha Trophy winner

The Omaha Trophy, dates back to the U.S. Air Force’s Strategic Air Command and was originally created by the Strategic Air Command Consultation Committee in 1971.

At the time, a single trophy was presented annually as a token of appreciation to the command’s best wing. The SCC – an advisory group comprised of business leaders in the Omaha area – became the Strategic Command Consultation Committee after the activation of U.S. Strategic Command in 1992.

Since then, the tradition has evolved to five awards to recognize USSTRATCOM’s premier intercontinental ballistic missile wing, ballistic missile submarine, strategic bomber wing, global operations (space/cyberspace) unit and strategic aircraft wing.

“Each year the Strategic Command Consultation Committee looks forward to recognizing the excellence demonstrated by USSTRATCOM’s finest strategic units,” SCC Chairman Ken Stinson said in a release. “On behalf of the committee, and the greater Omaha community, congratulations and thank you to you and your families for all that you do for our great nation. We salute you.”

USSTRATCOM has global responsibilities assigned through the Unified Command Plan that include strategic deterrence, nuclear operations, space operations, cyberspace operations, joint electromagnetic spectrum operations, global strike, missile defense, and analysis and targeting.

The 2018 Omaha Trophy recipient organizations are:

Intercontinental Ballistic Missile: 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom Air Force Base, Montana

Ballistic Missile Submarine: USS Nevada (SSBN-733), Naval Submarine Base Bangor, Washington

Strategic Bomber: 509th Bomb Wing, Whiteman Air Force Base, Missouri

Strategic Aircraft: 117th Air Refueling Wing, Sumpter Smith Air National Guard Base, Alabama

Global Operations: 21st Space Wing, Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado