Malmstrom racks up awards in 2017 Global Strike Challenge, including Blanchard Trophy for best missile wing

Scores were posted Wednesday night for the annual Global Strike Challenge, which is a competition among units from Air Force Global Strike Command, Air Combat Command, Air Force Reserve Command and the Air National Guard for intercontinental ballistic missile, helicopter operations and security forces airmen.

Malmstrom Air Force Base sent teams to compete and racked up some awards again this year.

The Blanchard Trophy returned to the 341st Missile Wing at Malmstrom again this year.

The Blanchard Trophy was first awarded in 1967 to the 351st Strategic Missile Wing based out of Whiteman AFB, Missouri. The trophy is named after Gen. William H. Blanchard who served as the United States Air Force vice chief of staff and represents the best missile wing within the command.

The 341st Missile Wing won their first Blanchard in 1976 and was the first wing to win back-to-back Blanchard trophies in 1990 and 1991. The wing has the most back-to-back wins out of the command and has won the most Blanchard’s to date, with 11 victories.

Here are the Malmstrom awards:

Best M9 shooter, Staff Sgt. William Lamb

Best M249 shooter, Senior Airman Tyler Smith

Best joint fires observer, Senior Airman Jordan Landstrom

Best Security Forces Tactics Trophy

Best SF Marksmanship (Firing) Trophy

Best Security Forces firing team

Best Helicopter Aerial Fires Crew, team included Capt. Robert Meeks, Capt. Drew Hundley, Staff Sgt. Joshua Makepeace and Staff Sgt. James McMullen

Bourlard Trophy, best helicopter squadron-40th Helicopter Squadron

Best power, refrigeration and electrical team-the winning crew is Senior Airman Blake McGriff and Senior Airman Raymond Knightstep

Best ICBM munitions maintenance team, the winning crew is Staff Sgt. Jason Halsey, Airman 1st Class Travis Gough, Airman 1st Class Kolton Law and Airman 1st Class Andrew Waala

Neary Trophy, best ICBM emergency war order crew-12th Missile Squadron, 1st Lt. Hunter Parisian and 1st Lt. James Kegyes

Linhard Trophy, best ICBM operations crew

Klotz Trophy, best ICBM operations

Charlie Fire Team Trophy for best Security Forces

Spirit Bell Trophy, which is awarded by the Commander, AFGSC, to the unit or team that best exemplifies and embodies the spirit of the competition through teamwork, professionalism, and esprit de corps. Malmstrom’s mascot is Airman 1st Class Tayorau Kablan.

Blanchard Trophy for best missile wing