Incumbent mayor no longer unopposed in this years election; filing deadline is Monday

A few more filed on Friday for the two City Commission seats and mayor’s seat that are up for reelection this year.

Mayor Bob Kelly was unchallenged until Thursday when Spencer Galloway filed to fun against him.

Current City Commissioner Fred Burow has decided to seek a third term and filed last week. Bob Jones’ seat is also up this year, but he has decided not to seek a third term.

Other candidates for those two open seats are Tyson Habein, Mary Sheehy Moe, Kate Hughes, Josh DeNully and Rick Tryon.

Neighborhood Council seats are all up for grabs this year. There are nine councils and each council has five members.

The filing deadline for this year’s election is 5 p.m. Monday.

Depending on how many people file Monday, a primary could be triggered for the commission seats.

Interested in running for office or looking for more information about the candidate requirements? You can find that information here: 2017_election_brochure